SHIFT20 Virtual Event and Expo        |         SHIFT20 Planner and Exhibitor Showcase       REGISTER
IFT Event Logo

Phi Tau Sigma & IFT honor division competition winners

July 15, 2018

Phi Tau Sigma

Student winners in the division poster competition were recognized on Sunday afternoon at the Phi Tau Sigma and IFT Division Competition Awards Ceremony in McCormick Place. Students from universities around the world received certificates and awards in numerous categories based on the division discipline. IFT President Cindy Stewart and Phi Tau Sigma President Robert Brackett welcomed those on hand for the ceremony.


A number of Phi Tau Sigma scholarships and special honors were also presented. Congratulations to the following honorees:

• Daryl B. Lund International Travel Scholarship: Amadeus Driando Ahnan (University of Massachusetts Amherst)

• Phi Tau Sigma Founders’ Scholarship: Weicang Wang (University of Massachusetts Amherst)

• Phi Tau Sigma Student Achievement Scholarships: Nicole Arnold (Virginia Tech); Tianxi Yang (University of Massachusetts Amherst); and Xiaoqiong Cao (University of Massachusetts Amherst)

• Gideon “Guy” Livingston Award: Zipei Zhang (University of Massachusetts Amherst)

• Phi Tau Sigma Outstanding Chapter of the Year Award: Purdue University “Hoosier” Chapter

• Phi Tau Sigma Special Recognition Award: H. Russell Cross (Texas A&M University)

Hundreds of research papers were submitted in the division poster competition. The awards ceremony celebrated the achievements of the finalists and the first-, second-, and third-place winners. The winners in each category are as follows:



1st: Indira Dey Paul (Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur)


Aquatic Food Products Division

1st: Rowena Zahn (Chapman University)

2nd: Sarah Brochu (University of Maine)

3rd: Yige Zhou (National University of Singapore)


Biotechnology Division

1st: Derell Hardman (Alabama A&M University)

2nd: Parsley Li (McGill University)

3rd: Kriza Faye Calumba (Louisiana State University)


Carbohydrate Division

1st: Miete Celus (KU Leuven)

2nd: Qiaobin Hu (University of Connecticut)

3rd: Mingyong Zhou (University of Connecticut)


Dairy Foods Division

1st: Brandon Carter (Brigham Young University)

2nd: Peter Rizzo (North Carolina State University)

3rd: Inseob Choi (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)


Dairy Foods — Graduate — Oral — Manfred Kroger

1st: Ashton Yoon (Cornell University)

2nd: Bryan Wherry (North Carolina State University)

3rd: Angelina Schiano (North Carolina State University)


Food Chemistry — Graduate — Oral

1st: Xiaoxi Liao (University of Georgia)

2nd: Stelios Sarantis (The Ohio State University)

3rd: Chengyu Gao (Illinois Institute of Technology)


Food Engineering Division

1st: Ali Ubeyitogullari (University of Nebraska–Lincoln)

2nd: Carly Rain Adams (University of Nebraska–Lincoln)

3rd: Jin Hong Mok (The Ohio State University)


Food Microbiology Division

1st: Cherisse Chun (University of Hawaii)

2nd: Bog Eum Lee (University of Hawaii)

3rd: Karuna Kharel (Louisiana State University)


Food Microbiology — Graduate — Oral — John Z. Ordal

1st: Junsi Yang (University of Nebraska–Lincoln)

2nd: Alexander Taylor (University of Illinois)

3rd: Fangyu Chen (Illinois Institute of Technology)


Food Packaging Division

1st: Caroline Loe (Oregon State University)

2nd: Morgan Meiser (Purdue University)

3rd: Juhi Patel (Washington State University)


Fruits & Vegetables Products Division

1st: Zilong Deng (Oregon State University)

2nd: Yuda Ou (Kansas State University)

3rd: Xiao Qiu (North Carolina State University)


International — George F. Stewart

1st: Lisa LaFountain (North Carolina State University)

2nd: Anna Waller (University of Illinois)


International — Malcolm Bourne

1st: Danlei Chen (Rutgers University)

2nd: Elisabeth Högg (Technical University of Berlin)

3rd: Rasanjali Egodage (Memorial University of Newfoundland)


Muscle Foods Division

1st: Anqi Guo (University of Kentucky)

2nd: Samira Viliani (California Polytechnic State University)

3rd: Seth Ellsworth (University of Arkansas)


Nonthermal Processing Division

1st: Zahra Moaddabdoost Baboli (North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University)

2nd: Dhriti Nayyar (University of Maine)


Nutraceuticals & Functional Foods Division

1st: Yifan Yang (Cornell University)

2nd: Chris Cheng (Purdue University)

3rd: Phoebe Chen (University of Massachusetts Amherst)


Nutrition Division

1st: Sofia Feng (North Carolina State University)

2nd: Roy Christopher Skinner (West Virginia University)

3rd: Katherine Li (Colorado State University)


Product Development Division

1st: Julie Camacho Flinois (Cornell University)

2nd: Annika Linke (University of Hohenheim)


Protein Division

1st: Leigh R. Schmidt (Purdue University)

2nd: Lei Wang (University of Nebraska–Lincoln)

3rd: Emily Brogan (West Virginia University)


Protein — Oral

1st: Jose Bonilla (Purdue University)

2nd: Lei Xu (Purdue University)

3rd: Lida Rahimi Araghi (University of Georgia)


Quality Assurance Division

1st: Mei-Ling Shotts (The Ohio State University)

2nd: Xin Rong Sia (The Ohio State University)

3rd: Ahmed Menevseoglu (The Ohio State University)


Refrigerated & Frozen Foods Division

1st: Aishwarya Badiger (The Ohio State University)

2nd: Pavitra Krishna Kumar (Washington State University)


Sensory & Consumer Sciences — Oral — Graduate  — Rose Marie Pangborn

1st: Matthew Chapko (University of Arkansas)

2nd: Sasha Barnett (Washington State University)

3rd: José Alonso-Marenco (Louisiana State University) and Ragita Pramudya (University of Arkansas) (tie)


Toxicology & Safety Evaluation Division

1st: Xingyi Jiang (Florida State University)

2nd: Mostafa Taghvaei (Kansas State University)

3rd: Wen-Che Tsai (National Chung Hsing University)



Phi Tau Sigma is the honor society of food science and technology.