Feed your future
June 2-5, 2019 | New Orleans, LA
Home Official Event News IFT celebrates leadership, innovation, achievement

IFT celebrates leadership, innovation, achievement

June 03, 2019
2019 IFT Fellows

IFT President Michele Perchonok kicked off IFT19 on Sunday, June 2, with a ceremony celebrating leadership, innovation, commitment, and achievement. “Tonight’s honorees represent the IFT mission to advance the science of food and its application across the global food system. They inspire us and provide evidence that IFT’s mission is bold, relevant, necessary, and achievable.” said Perchonok.

The Achievement Awards recognize IFT members (teams or individuals) for remarkable contributions in research, applications, and service in the food science and technology industry. In addition to recognition during the Awards Ceremony, the recipients will be celebrated in the Hall of Honor, which is located on the main floor in the lobby outside halls G and H of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. The Hall of Honor celebrates exceptional accomplishments and volunteer leadership of dedicated science of food members and professionals. This year’s Hall of Honor also features the Emerging Leaders Network award recipients, the newly elected class of Fellows, section and divisions outstanding volunteers, and IFTSA student leadership awards.

The 13 Achievement Award recipients for 2019 are:

D. Julian McClementsNicolas Appert Award

D. Julian McClements, PhD, University of Massachusetts

David Julian McClements is a distinguished professor in the Department of Food Science at the University of Massachusetts. He specializes in food biopolymers and colloids, with an emphasis on using structural design approaches to improve food quality, nutritional value, and safety. He has authored five books, edited six books, filed 12 patents, and published over 900 scientific articles. He has received awards from the American Chemical Society, AOCS, International Union of Food Science and Technology, IFT, Society of Chemical Industry, and UMass in recognition of his achievements.


Hang XiaoBabcock-Hart Award

Hang Xiao, PhD, University of Massachusetts

Hang Xiao is the recipient of the 2019 Babcock-Hart Award for his exceptional scientific contributions, which have had a positive impact on advances in health and well-being. His work has focused on the development of diet-based strategies for the prevention of chronic diseases.


M. Mónica GiustiWilliam V. Cruess Award for Excellence in Teaching

M. Mónica Giusti, PhD, The Ohio State University

Mónica Giusti, professor of food science and technology at The Ohio State University, is the 2019 recipient of the William Cruess Excellence in Teaching Award. Comments from current and former students unanimously acknowledge her sincere attention to enhancing their knowledge and inspiring their drive toward excellence.


Colin DennisCarl R. Fellers Award

Colin Dennis, PhD, CFS, IFIS Publishing and British Nutrition Foundation

Colin Dennis has held senior management and leadership roles in R&D, analysis and testing, and training and consultancy in government institutes in the United Kingdom and Norway and in commercial research and technology organizations, including 21 years as CEO of Campden BRI. He has also held visiting professorships in universities and provided scientific, technical, and strategic leadership in not-for-profit organizations and professional institutes, including serving as president of IFT and the Institute of Food Science and Technology.


Christiani Jeyakumar HenryW.K. Kellogg International Food Security Award and Lectureship

Christiani Jeyakumar Henry, PhD, Clinical Nutrition Research Centre, A*STAR, and Department of Biochemistry, National University of Singapore

Christiani Jeyakumar Henry, an eminent food scientist and nutritionist, established the Clinical Nutrition Research Centre in Singapore in 2011. His research interests are glycemic control, functional foods, body weight regulation, and refugee nutrition.


Mary Kay PohlschneiderElizabeth Fleming Stier Award

Mary Kay Pohlschneider, PhD, The Ohio State University

Mary Kay Pohlschneider is a senior lecturer at The Ohio State University in food science and technology, where she teaches Introduction to Food Processing, HACCP, Food & Health Controversies, Caffeine Science, and Chocolate Science. In 10 years as a faculty member, she has become known for her passion for the science of foods—notably cookies, ice cream, coffee, and especially chocolate.


Ken LeeMyron Solberg Award

Ken Lee, PhD, The Ohio State University

Ken Lee is a professor of food science at Ohio State, his many roles include serving on boards, as president of Phi Tau Sigma, and currently as a member of the IFT board of directors and director of OSU Food Innovation. He is an IFT Fellow and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.


Valente B. AlvarezBor S. Luh International Award

Valente B. Alvarez, PhD, The Ohio State University Industries Center

Valente Alvarez is an internationally renowned scientist whose outstanding efforts sustain an exchange of ideas across the globe, making an impact through research, outreach, and service. His research efforts have contributed to food and dairy processing, product development, ingredient functionality, and quality.


Ahmed YousefGerhard Haas Achievement Award

Ahmed Yousef, PhD, The Ohio State University

Ahmed Yousef is being recognized for outstanding achievements in the development of approaches to improve microbiological food safety. Yousef’s research has encompassed several important food safety areas, including development of novel ozone-based decontamination technologies to reduce pathogens in foods and identification of natural peptide antimicrobials for control of foodborne pathogens.


Han-Seok SeoSamuel Cate Prescott Award for Research

Han-Seok Seo, PhD, University of Arkansas Sensory Service Center, University of Arkansas – Fayetteville

Han-Seok Seo is a creative sensory scientist who combines an interdisciplinary background with skills that contribute to improved quality of life through healthy and joyful eating behavior. He is associate professor and director of the University of Arkansas Sensory Service Center in the Department of Food Science at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.


Lisa J. MauerResearch and Development Award

Lisa J. Mauer, PhD, Center for Food Safety Engineering, Purdue University

Lisa J. Mauer is well known for her innovative work on food ingredient architecture and water-solid interactions. Her research on deliquescence, amorphization, noncovalent intermolecular interactions in solid dispersions, blends of crystalline and amorphous ingredients, new salt forms of vitamins, starch, and moisture sorption has improved the quality, nutrition, and shelf life of low- and intermediate-moisture foods.


Suzanne PecoreSensory and Consumer Sciences Achievement Award

Suzanne Pecore, P & D Consulting LLC

Suzanne Pecore is a highly respected sensory scientist and has made a strong contribution to the sensory community—from her work in the food industry to her extensive involvement and leadership roles in professional organizations. She is an excellent example of an industry-centered sensory scientist who has contributed her sensory knowledge and guidance to many colleagues and across many disciplines.


Kiyoko KubomuraCalvert L. Willey Distinguished Service Award

Kiyoko Kubomura, PhD, Kubomura Food Advisory Consultants

Kiyoko Kubomura is being recognized for her years of distinguished service to IFT. With over 25 years of IFT membership, Kubomura has served on many IFT committees and juries, in addition to serving as an IFT champion within the Japan Section and as a section councilor and executive committee member. Kubomura has tirelessly introduced, described, explained, interpreted, and generally represented IFT to her many colleagues and associates in Japan.