Feed your future
June 2-5, 2019 | New Orleans, LA
Home News Phi Tau Sigma & IFT honor division competition winners

Phi Tau Sigma & IFT honor division competition winners

June 02, 2019

Chapter of the Year

Student winners in the division poster competition were recognized on Sunday afternoon at the Phi Tau Sigma and IFT Division Competition Awards Ceremony in La Nouvelle Ballroom. Students from universities around the world received certificates and awards in numerous categories based on the division discipline.

A number of Phi Tau Sigma scholarships and special honors were also presented. Congratulations to the following honorees:

• Daryl B. Lund International Travel Scholarship: Molly Higgins (Pennsylvania State University)

• Phi Tau Sigma Founders’ Scholarship: Claire Zoellner (Cornell)

• Phi Tau Sigma Student Achievement Scholarships: Amadeus Driando Ahnan (University of Massachusetts); Shreya N. Sahasrabudhe (Purdue University); Ruolie Zhang (MIT)

• Gideon “Guy” Livingston Award: Gayathri Upeksha Gunathilaka (Michigan State University)

• Phi Tau Sigma Outstanding Chapter of the Year Award: Iowa State Chapter

• Phi Tau Sigma Special Recognition Award: Mary K. Schmidl, PhD (University of Minnesota)

Hundreds of research papers were submitted in the division poster competition. The awards ceremony celebrated the achievements of the finalists and the first-, second-, and third-place winners. The winners in each category are as follows:


1st: Sheik MD Moniruzzaman, Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technoloy

Aquatic Food Products Division

1st: Derek Warren, West Virginia University

2nd: Xue Zhao, National University of Singapore

3rd: Sami Humaid, University of Maine

Biotechnology Division

1st: Purni Wickramasinghe, University of Tennessee – Knoxville

2nd: Thirawat Tantamacharik, University of Otago

3rd: Devanshu Mehta, University of Florida

Carbohydrate Division

1st: Seon-Min Oh, Kyung Hee University

2nd: Caroline Smith, University of Nebraska – Lincoln

3rd: Hao Zhang, University of Tennessee – Knoxville

Dairy Foods Division

1st: Raheleh Ravanfar, Cornell University

2nd: Rachel Gipson, North Carolina State University

3rd: Linran Wang, Cornell University

Dairy Foods — Graduate — Oral — Manfred Kroger

1st: Peter Rizzo, North Carolina State University

Food Chemistry — Graduate — Oral

1st: Gonzalo Miyagusuku Cruzado, Ohio State University

2nd: Minwei Xu, North Dakota State University

3rd: Xiaoyi Zhu, Ohio State University

Food Engineering Division

1st: Halak Mehta, Purdue University

2nd: Xueqian Shi, University of Illinois

3rd: Wusigale, Jiangnan University

Food Microbiology Division

1st: Yawen Zhai, North Carolina State University

2nd: Bog Eum Lee, University of Hawaii

3rd: Li Kwang, West Virginia University

Food Microbiology — Graduate — Oral — John Z. Ordal

1st: Hsiao-Wen Huang, National Taiwan University

2nd: Jaewon Lee, University of Illinois

3rd: Tushar Verma, University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Food Packaging Division

1st: Ashutos Parhi, Washington State University

2nd: Xiaoyu Luo, University of Guelph, Canada

3rd: Yan Zhang, Purdue University

Fruits & Vegetables Products Division

1st: Bennett Dzandu, Louisiana State University

2nd: Yucheng Zhou, The Ohio State University

3rd: Nishtha Lukhmana, University of Georgia

International — George F. Stewart

1st: Oluwasegun Modupe, University of Toronto

2nd: Elisabeth Hoegg, Technical University of Berlin

3rd: Ana Clara da Costa Pinaffi, School of Public Health – University of Sao Paulo

International — Malcolm Bourne

1st: Ruican Wang, China Agricultural University

2nd: Yagmur Yegin, Texas A&M University

3rd: Karen Sánchez, ITWSM

Muscle Foods Division

1st: Sandra Ebert, University of Hohenheim

2nd: Xingyi Jiang, Florida State University

3rd: Natalie Oswell, University of Georgia

Nonthermal Processing Division

1st: Ozan Kahraman, University of Illinois

2nd: Shaun Sim, Cornell University

3rd: Dongjie Chen, The University of Minnesota – Twin Cities

Nutraceuticals & Functional Foods Division

1st: Snigdha Guha, University of Nebraska – Lincoln

2nd: Cindy Andrea Nieto-Veloza, University of Tennessee – Knoxville

3rd: Qiaobin Hu, University of Connecticut

Nutrition Division

1st: Maritza Sirven, Texas A&M University

2nd: Rohil Bhatnagar, Cornell University

3rd: Aubree Hawley, University of Arkansas

Product Development Division

1st: Junsi Yang, University of Nebraska – Lincoln

2nd: Mehmet Turker, Montana State University

3rd: Nigel Chimbetete, Alabama A&M University

Protein Division

1st: Emily Woolf, San Diego State University

2nd: Enrico Federici, Purdue University

3rd: Tolulola Adeyewa, Florida State University

Protein — Oral

1st: Emely Lopez, University of Illinois

2nd: Emily Mason, McGill University

3rd: Yige Zhou, National University of Singapore

Quality Assurance Division

1st: Amanda Sia, Ohio State University

2nd: Bipin Rajpurohit, South Dakota State University

3rd (tie): Maria Izabel Milani (Ohio State University) & Didem Aykas (Ohio State University)

Refrigerated & Frozen Foods Division

1st: Vondel Reyes, Louisiana State University

Sensory & Consumer Sciences

1st: Leah Hamilton, Virginia Polytechnic University

2nd: Sasha Barnett, Washington State University

3rd: Heather Keefer, North Carolina State University

Sensory & Consumer Sciences — Oral — Graduate  — Rose Marie Pangborn

1st: Courtney Schlossareck, Washington State University

2nd: Sara Nishku, North Carolina State University

3rd: Victoria Minette, Washington State University

Toxicology & Safety Evaluation Division

1st: Hualu Zhou, University of Massachusetts – Amherst

2nd: Mostafa Taghvaei, Kansas State University

3rd: Andrea Bernat, Florida State University


Phi Tau Sigma is the honor society of food science and technology.